Even Age County Championship 2021

3 Oct 2021
Ballycurran Cross

Even Age County Championship 2021

? Gold: May Timmins U10, Robert Coogan U12, Robin Denieffe Novice B, U12 Boys Team and U12 Girls Team, Novice Men’s Team, O40 Men’s Team

? Silver: Billy Coogan U18

? Bronze: Evan Ryan U12, Lucy Coomey U14, Ray Lahart Novice Men, Novice Men’s Team

Great day for Gowran in Ballycurran. The sun was shining which made a difference from last years howling wind and rain. The field today was a 1k loop with a winding downhill section and a long uphill. The grass was high which also puts extra work on the athletes. With the cows out on the field the day before, there was a lot of mucky sections and more ? to be avoided.
Lots of strong performances given that we have had juvenile training setbacks due to Covid ?
May Timmins was exceptionally strong in the girls U10, she took to the lead and never looked back. May is one of our U9 athletes stepping up in age this week.
In the U10 boys, Sean Farrell was having a great run in his first race and was fighting for one of the top 3 places. But with the finish line in sight, Sean got a stitch and had to pull out. This can happen but Sean will be back again to fight another day. Ross Hutton was the first Gowran boy home in 6th.
1st for Robert Coogan in the U12s boys 1500m. Robert was content to stay in 2nd for most of the race and strategically made his move on the last hill to win gold. Just behind in 3rd, Evan Ryan had a solid run on his own for most of the race but with the rest of the field in hot pursuit. 1st team for the boys U12.
In the u12 Girls 1500m, Anna Kelsey and Daisy Coomey led the gowran girls to Team victory.
Well done to all the U11 boys and girls who stepped up in age to try a cross country race ahead of next weeks 1000m in Castlecomer.
The U14 boys were short the whole team as their GAA championship final match (Young Irelands) was on in Dunmore at the same time. But U13 boys Joe, Matthew and Cameron stepped up to the challenge in the tough 2500m. All the boys finished in the top 11 but were one short for a team prize.
In the U14 Girls 2500m, Lucy Coomey’s years of training and competing are finally paying off as she won her first individual bronze medal at counties. Kate Hayden also had a great race coming 4th and Eve Doyle in 10th. No team prize for the girls as just one short.
Strong performances for the U16 Girls in the 3500m with 5th and 6th place for Rachel O’Neill and Hazel Coogan.
Billy Coogan ran in Derby last weekend representing CBS Kilkenny and Ireland in the Schools Steeplechase. Back out this weekend in the U18 5000m, he came 2nd in a very close race against a St. Senans athlete who has also competed internationally for his club. Amazing to have this caliber of athletes at the County Championships. Cillian Dunne was missing today with knee trouble but he should be back out next week.
In the Novice women, Robin Denieffe won the novice B in her first Novice race. The Novice men were out in force and won 1st and 3rd team led by Ray Lahart who took home an individual bronze medal too.
4th place for Derek Kehoe in the O40men and a gold team medal for Derek, Paul Flood, Joe Treacy and Eamonn Kelsey. Great to see some of the men from the Thursday night social group out having a race too.
Well done to the Senior coaches Niall and Mick for working so hard with the Senior group. Niall’s training plans are tough but worth it and the results are showing the level of commitment from the Senior athletes.

Well done to all our new juvenile athletes trying Cross Country for the first time, it is not easy and getting across the finish line is such an achievement. We are all about getting teams through in Gowran so keep coming to training and competing so that we can continue to build our teams. Running can be an individual sport but it is more fun with friends around.
So a huge thanks to all who ran and to all the athletes who were there for each other. The coaches noted how kind the more experienced boys and girls were to the new runners, giving tips and support.
Thanks to coaches Tom, Adrian, Dave S, Michelle and Dave D for getting the juveniles warmed up, giving the pre-race tips, calming nerves and giving the support throughout the race. The kids love coming into the finishline and seeing Dave’s friendly face taking results.

And a huge thanks to all the parents for prioritising athletics on a Sunday morning and making the trip to Ballycurran. The club appreciates your support and so does your child.

Ballycurran Photos or https://www.flickr.com/gp/gowranac/uG498a
We had so many we added them to our club flickr

St Senans AC lead in the race for the best overall club with 21 points. 2nd are KCH with 17 and Gowran lie in 3rd with 11.5. Thomastown are next with 9 just one point ahead of St Josephs with 8. Barrow Harriers have 1 points. Next week concludes the race for the best overall club so we hope to have full teams out in each age category to win back some points.

Gowran were the best overall club with 10 points, St Joseph’s next with 6, St. Senan’s with 5 and KCH 3.



U8 Girls
13th Emma Hayden
16th Roisin Corrigan

U8 Boys
6th Kai Whelan
8th Ryan Kennedy

U10 Girls

1st May Timmins
5th Mia Kennedy
9th Abigail Hunt
Pearl Treacy DNF

U10 Boys
4th Team

6th Ross Hutton
13th Bobby Coomey
23rd Ted Kelsey
25th Cian Larkin
26th Fionn Smith
27th Ludy Raftice
Sean Farrell DNF

U12 Girls
1st and 4th Team

7th Anna Kelsey
8th Daisy Coomey
11th Rachel Duff
12th Amelia Walsh
18th Eilis Beatty
19th Laura Beatty
21st Lucy Cunningham
24th Eimear Cottrell
25th Lauren Larkin
27th Lucy Brennan
Roisin Smith DNF

U12 Boys
1st and 4th team
1st Robert Coogan
3rd Evan Ryan
10th David Timmins
11th Michael O’Keeffe
13th Conor Roche
15th Milo Geraghty
18th Aidan Corrigan
19th Oisin Doyle
20th Rory Treacy

U14 Girls
3rd Lucy Coomey
4th Kate Hayden
10th Eve Doyle

U14 Boys
8th Joe Hayes
10th Matthew Duggan
11th Cameron Whelan

U16 Girls
5th Rachel O’Neill
6th Hazel Coogan

U18 Boys
2nd Billy Coogan

Novice B Women
1st Robin Denieffe

Novice Men
1st and 3rd team

3rd Ray Lahart
5th John Coady
6th Paul Flood
7th David O’Brien
10th Joe Treacy
13th Shane Bradley
14th Matthew Ryan
15th Eamon Kelsey
16th James Delehanty
17th Pat Hayden
18th Mick Walsh

O40 Men
1st Team

4th Derek Kehoe
5th Paul Flood
10th Joe Treacy
16th Eamon Kelsey
17th James Delehanty
19th Pat Hayden
20th Mick Walsh