County XC Relays and Short Course Competition

16 Sep 2018
Castlepark, Kilkenny

The County Short Course and Juvenile Relays Cross Country were held for the first time in Kilkenny Castle Park on the 16th of September. The park is a beautiful location to run in, is centrally located and with free carparking in the County Council Offices, it has the potential to be an ideal venue.

In a fantastic show of force with 84 Gowran juvenile athletes participated.One parent, arriving late commented that he came over the hill and just saw a sea of red. Our new singlets and half zips shone brightly in the sun. As a club participation is very important to us – so we thank all those who made the journey and pulled on the red singlet.

The U7s started with a short sprint as an introductory race for most of these young athletes. In the girl’s race, Mia Kennedy arrived only just in time and won her first County race beating off neighbouring Thomastown. Kate, Emma and Maebh were all right behind her. In the boy’s race, Dylan McGee was fast out and finished 7th. Sean, Ted, Danny, Bobby and Daniel all with older siblings and cousins in the club were cheered into the finishing shoot by 26 of our U9s. Everyone went home happy with a medal and dreams of future outings.

The U9 distance was short, very short with sharp bends so race navigation was essential. A slow start meant a leading position was unlikely. The girls race had 36 and the boys 31 which was amazing to see. In the girl’s race, Holly Drennan came 2nd to Zoe Beck from Thomastown. Holly had a good start but Zoe made it to the bend ahead which left Holly chasing with little time to catch up.  Lauren Phelan got a great start and came storming home with Niamh and Orlaith. Emily O’Keffee and Heidi Ryan stepping up in age showed great promise for the future.

In the U9 boys, Robert and David battled for the first place. This was David’s first XC race, while Robert is an experienced XC runner and is well used to fighting till the end, giving him the extra edge to secure gold. Sam, Darragh and Evan tumbled in through the shoot with spikes waving dangerously in the air. But a few cuts and scrapes wouldn’t stop this hardy trio. MJ Carroll stepping up from U8 ran a tremendous race coming in 8th.

The U11 Girls came 3rd in the relay with Kate, Órla and Eimear. Kate Hayden up from U10 ran well but had a tough first lap and finished in 6th position. Órla Brennan gained a place on the straight before the bend and then another on changeover putting Eimear Brennan in fourth position. Eimear held well and found it difficult to get through the runners ahead on the tight curves. Coming up to the line she passed KCH to get the 3rd.

U11 Boys was a clear win for Gowran coming 1st, 2nd and 3rd but itt didn’t mean the race was not competitive. Charlie Ryan got a great start and led till Odhrán Prendergast passed at the second last bend. Conor Carroll was coming in fast too but Charlie held on to second. Odhrán passed it to David Magee while Tom Kehoe received it from Charlie. Tom closed some of the distance but David stayed strong till hand over to Aidan Keating. Tómas Carroll did all he could but Aidan was in flying form and finished first over the line with a few meters to spare. Great run from all the U11s.

U13 Girls is always one of the most competitive of categories, there were 7 top class teams in this year’s race, amongst them Gowran had 2 complete teams and one team with Órla Brennan stepping up. The girls ran great to pick up a bronze medal, a 5th place and 7th.  It was a race where the shortened course didn’t suit – the full distance would have definitely served our athletes better.

Similar to the Girls, the u13 boys is also super competitive, there were fewer teams in this, but all were quality athletes. Our boys finished 3rd and 4th – which was remarkable considering there was only one true u13 amongst them.

U15 Girls and U17 Girls race was run together, Catie, Maria & Emma shook off the summer cobwebs to finish 3rd u15, while Eve, Robyn and Lizzie finished 2nd in the u17 age group

Disappointingly the U15 Boys had no competition but had to run the relay anyway. Two laps on your own is a little dull so when 3rd runner Cillian Dunne was on his last lap, the U11/12 boys chased him around for support!  A great finish to the day.  Thanks to Kilkenny City Harriers, OPW and the County Board for hosting.

Gowran Results


1.Mia Kennedy

3. Kate Langton

4. Emma O’Connor

6. Maebh Farrell



7. Dylan McGee

8. Sean Carroll

9. Ted Kelsey

11. Danny Comerford

12. Bobby Coomey

14. Daniel Carroll



36 in the race

2. Holly Bolger

10. Niamh Brennan

11. Lauren Phelan

12. Orlaith Carroll

14. Anna Kelsey

19. Aoife Brennan

21. Emily O’Keffee

22. Heidi Ryan

23. Aisling O’Neill

24. Jane O’Connor

28. Daisy Coomey



31 in the race

1. Robert Coogan

2. David Timmins

5. Sam Corr

6. Evan Ryan

7. Darragh Carroll

8. MJ Carroll

15. Liam Treacy

17. Dylan Drennan

18. Gearoid Farrell

20. Rory Treacy

21. Micheal Langton

22. Charlie Gardiner

25. Aidan Malone

26. David Carroll

31 Noah Comerford




18 teams

3rd – Kate Hayden, Orlaith Brennan. Eimear Brennan

9th – Mixed team: Niamh Brennan (G), Holly Drennan (G) and  Thomastown

10th – Lucy Coomey, Molly Lynch, Kathy Phelan,

11th – Ailish Keating, Eve Doyle, Ceola Leamy



10 teams

1st – Odhrán Prendergast, David McGee, Aidan Keating

2nd – Charlie Ryan, Tómas Carroll, Tom Kehoe

3rd – Conor Carroll, James Kelsey, Sam McAviney

8th Noah Denieffe, Conor Malone, Eabhan Kehoe

9th Thomas Hayden, Oisin Morrow, Eabhan Kehoe,



7 teams

3rd  – Hazel  Coogan, Alex Brennan, Rachel O’Neill

5th – Roisin Brennan, Emily Maley, Orlaith Brennan

7th – Chloe Lynch, Rachel Gardiner, Molly Nolan



5 teams

3rd  –  Liam O’Dwyer, Darragh Dunne, Erin Doyle

4th – Ruairi Phelan, Matthew McAviney, Ben Drennan



3rd – Emma Corr, Catie Maley, Maria Connolly



1st Billy Coogan, Cillian Dunne, Darragh Nolan



2nd Elizabeth Maley, Eve O’Dwyer,  Robyn Denieffe



Gowran 15

St. Josephs 9


Thomastown 5

Barrow Harriers 2



SENIOR MEN 4k – 1st  Team

2. Niall Sheehan

3. Dean Rowe

5. Mick Kelly

6. Derek Kehoe

7. Lyndon Barcoe

8. Cormac Buggy